Posted by: Mike | July 9, 2007

Day 5: An Anachronism in Heaven


Sorry this post is a day late, but I’m finally getting some time to sit down and write, even though I have not done much of anything the past couple days. I did finish my book, so that was a nice accomplishment.


Yesterday, I went to mass at All Saints’ Church. I have to say, it was one of the weirder experiences I have had. All Saints’ describes itself as Anglo-Catholic and advertises in the local gay rag. It also allows no women on the altar. The mass was Rite I – I learned later that they do Rite II one Sunday a month – and the hymns were from The Hymnal, 1940. They did have blue 1982 hymnals, but we did not use them. It sort of reminded me of what would happen if Grace Church and The Falls Church had a baby church together.

Anyway, the service was nice – typical summertime service – and the people were friendly. Their rector is an Aussie, and he had just gotten his permanent resident card, so the congregation applauded for that.

Tomorrow is my first “drive day.” I will leave San Diego in the morning, stop in Palm Springs for lunch, and then head to Z’s house in Tucson by the evening. Yes, it is a little out of the way, but I want to have lunch with S in Palm Springs before leaving California.


Leave a comment

Categories